Skip to main content
Greater Essex County District School Board
Building Tomorrow Together Every Learner, Every Day
LeClair Chosen as Chair of the Board of Trustees

​NEWS RELEASE                                 

Greater Essex County District School Board 451 Park Street West, Windsor ON N9A 6K1

519-255- 3200


December 3, 2019

Contact: Public Relations Officer Scott Scantlebury

Phone: 519-255-3200 ext. 10224

​GECDSB Trustees Select Leadership

- Trustee Ron LeClair assumes Chair-

Trustee Ron LeClair (Amherstburg / LaSalle) has been selected, by his colleagues, to be Chairperson of the Greater Essex County District School Board's Board of Trustees for the next 12 months.

The vote was conducted at the Board's annual Inaugural Meeting, during which leadership and committee structures are established for the year ahead.

It is Mr. LeClair's first opportunity to lead the Board. He has previously served 3 years as Vice-chair. He is in his second term with the Board, having been first elected in 2014.

Trustee Cathy Cooke (Windsor wards 5,6,7 & 8) was acclaimed as Vice-Chairperson. She is in her first term as a GECDSB Trustee.

The chairperson of the Education Committee will be Alicia Higgison (Lakeshore/Tecumseh).

The chairperson of the Operations and Finance Committee will be Alan Halberstadt (Windsor Wards 3,4&10).

The new Board of Trustees will hold its first regular public meeting on Tuesday, December 10th.

​For more information contact Public relations Officer Scott Scantlebury @ 519-255-3200 ext. 10224 or 519-995-5797.