Skip to main content
Greater Essex County District School Board
Building Tomorrow Together Every Learner, Every Day
Inaugural Meeting of the Board

Jessica Sartori and Erin Kelly.jpgJessica Sartori (Windsor Wards 1, 2 & 9) β€‹(pictured, left with Direcor of Education Erin Kelly) was elected ​Chairperson for 2019 at the Board of Trustees' annual organizational meeting on December 4th. A Trustee since 2014, this will be Sartori's first time serving as Chair. "I am grateful for the opportunity," she told her colleagues. 

The new Board of Trustees, elected in October, officially began its 4 year term at the meeting. There are 5, first-time members: Aimee Omstead (Leamington / Pelee Island); Alicia Higgison (Tecumseh / Lakeshore); Linda Qin (Windsor, Wards 1, 2 & 9); Cathy Cooke (Windsor, Wards 5, 6, 7 & 8); and Sarah Cipkar (Windsor, Wards ​3, 4 & 10). They join Sartori, Alan Halberstadt *Windsor, Wards 3, 4 & 10), Gale Hatfield (Windsor, Wards 5, 6, 7 & 8), Julia Burgess (Essex / Kingsville) and Ron LeClair (Amherstburg / LaSalle).

"We can't solve every problem," Sartori said in her remarks following the meeting. "But, we can have an impact by working together and focusing on our mission and vision."

Julia Burgess was selected as Vice-Chair of the Board. Alan Halberstadt will chair the Board's Operations and Finance standing committee and Alicia Higgison will chair the Education Committee.

The Board's public meeting schedule  is posted on the website under the Board tab.​​​​​